FFR Carillon Romanet case

Rodrigo A

Jul 24, 2020
Country
Hello All,
I thought the case of this clock was unique and I took a couple of photos to share (not my clock). These are the only photos I have. I am a newbie and I have not seen anything like it before, I am curious about the case; I was able to learn something about FFR here and elsewhere on the web.
Thanks

case.jpg dial.jpg

Reactions: Salsagev

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
The images on the case are reminiscent of those in paintings by Breughel. How is the finish done, is it painted?

JTD

chimeclockfan

NAWCC Member
Dec 21, 2006
WI
Country
Region
FFR = Sons of Fils Romanet, located in Morbier, France. A prominent factory renowned for its Comtoise clocks and chiming box regulators.
Their clocks normally appear in France, Germany, Vietnam, and Brazil but are not so well known in North America.
Your clock looks like a model from the 1940s-1950s going by the dial and case proportioning. Later models tend to look squattier.
This is one of the more ornate box regulator cases. I've never seen one quite like this before so they must be rare. Most FFR cases from the postwar years were plainer in appearance. Good quality in all aspects and the chimes tend to sound nice.

The clock shown is a 4 chime model unique to FFR.
The chimes played varied with production years. It will play Westminster and Ave Maria de Lourdes along with two other tunes:
On the Blue Waves and Old Steeple, or L'Angelus de la Mer and La Paimpolaise.

There are no formal publications about FFR but there is this blog giving some insight towards other clocks from the same period.
Shoutout to Salsagev for sending me the link:

Salsagev

Feb 6, 2020
Madison
www.youtube.com
Country
Region
I have yet to buy the 1958 FFR catalog which should show the 4 airs series. Very nice clock and rare find! May I ask if you are located in America? I am stunned that you found one of these clocks which in America is rare as finding gold in your back yard.

puimake