• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Favag Favag F3

silicon_salut

Feb 29, 2016
Country
Hello
I am writing because we inherited this FAVAG clock, i am a complete rookie to clocks but am kind of geeky with arduino, electricity, etc. with a friend we seem to have concluded that we need a master clock or fake one with an arduino, and that this clock probably is a slave clock but we dont know

1) what voltage to send
2) what frequence to send the signal

any advice would be greatly appreciated. if you need us to find more info we could probably check, but there isn't much written inside the mechanism

Screen Shot 11.png

rogerj

Dec 21, 2014
Cornwall
www.rogerj.co.uk
Country
Re: Favag F3

I don't know this mechanism at all but I believe 1 pulse per minute was common in European clocks.
I don't know why there is a relay added either.It may be an addition. But if you can locate the two wires that go the main coils (top of pic) try dabbing 6 volts across. If no movement try 12..and then 24 volts. Quite likely two pulses in succession won't work in which case it might require pulses of alternate polarity at each activation. (likely) When you've got it to pulse it will become obvious if pulses are required every minute ...or half minute.
Posting this but hoping someone will come who actually knows it..

edit. This thread may be relevant:

Thread: Favag Electric slave clock problems

Last edited by a moderator:

silicon_salut

Feb 29, 2016
Country

hi roger -

thanks SO much for your reply. when you say 6 volts across, you mean the positive on one side and the neg on the other? i think 24v will do the trick from what I've scrounged around. do you think there will be a special pulse for the hour hand? it is a huge clock no second hands just minutes

EDIT : also any idea concerning amperes?

silicon_salut

Feb 29, 2016
Country