Farmers Daughter driving me crazy

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Runningman, Jan 29, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Runningman

Runningman Registered User

Jan 29, 2018
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I am new to the board and hope some day to be useful to others but at this time I don't have much to offer. I'm new to clock repair and have only two successful Cuckoo repairs under my belt.
    I recently purchased a broken Farmers Daughter cuckoo. I successfully cleaned and oiled it. I also rebushe'd the drum on the music box. My drum has an elongated slot that the stop lever drops into. This is a problem when adjusting my Regula 25 music levers. How do I get the fan stop rod adjusted so that it runs long enough to pass the slot on the drum? Everything is working but I am unable to get the music box to turn several revelations before the stop Rod inhibits the governor...Is it that sensitive? Now when the stop Rod falls away and the activation arm drops the lever s still in the slot and the box won't play.... Frustrated clock whana be..Help me please, desperate in Oregon.

image.jpeg image.jpeg

Quarterafter likes this.
  2. tom427cid

tom427cid Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 23, 2009
    Cabinetmaker,clock repair
    Moultonborough,NH
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    That slot needs to be unbushed. The purpose of the slot is to let the hook drop in and allow the hose piece on the upper part of the arm to stop the gov fan. When it is released there needs to be a small amount of space between the hook and the drum to allow the drum to advance from the hook, the fan is held by the "whisker"(wire) and when the cuckoo is finished the music box is free to operate.
    Hope this helps.
    tom

3. Chris D

Chris D Registered User

Sep 8, 2009
    Coplay, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: