Farmer's Daughter Cuckoo Animation-how to make Man Climb Ladder

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by KBPinNH, Oct 29, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. KBPinNH

KBPinNH Registered User

May 24, 2016
    Country Flag:
    My Farmer's Daughter Cuckoo is working beautifully except I have no idea how to assemble the
    rotation wheel for the man to climb the ladder. I know the music runs and man climbs the ladder at the same time.

I purchased this clock from eBay to overhaul. This is my 7th cuckoo I have worked on, so I am still an apprentice.

If anyone has a picture of what the wheel mechanism that moves the man on the ladder, looks like, it would be so helpful! I may be missing some pieces.

I have attached the parts that I have.
    Man Ladder, hook that moves the man with a brass weight on the end (inside) IMG_3529.JPG IMG_3530.JPG IMG_3531.JPG
    Brass frame, rotation wheel, steel axis, black rubber piece to slide on axis, clear plastic tube.

Issues: I don't see what moves the axis, attached to the rotation wheel. The axis ( steel nail) rotates freely and can come in and out freely.
    How does the music chain catch onto the rubber ? And how does the rubber move the axis when they don't catch each other and rotate freely.
    Is my axis piece worn down?

perplexed, much appreciation for your help:)

2. bangster

bangster Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Jan 1, 2005
    utah
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Pliz show us a pic of the front of the clock.

3. kinsler33

kinsler33 Registered User

Aug 17, 2014
    Male
    Science teacher, writer
    Lancaster, Ohio, USA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Ahem:

Farmer's daughter. Man. Ladder.

I am shocked and horrified.

M Kinsler

Then what happens?

4. KBPinNH

KBPinNH Registered User

May 24, 2016
    Country Flag: