Eureka Eureka clock help please

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by doby11, Apr 9, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. For the new NAWCC home page
    Click this image at the upper left corner of this page.
  1. doby11

doby11 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 6, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hi folks. I just purchased my first Eureka clock. It’s been running and keeping good time with a 1.5 D battery. Can anyone tell me approximately when it was made? It has the original old dial which I removed but I can’t find a serial number on it. It doesn’t appear to be a marriage as everything fits up well with the case but I’m no expert on these clocks. It has the original old keys for the front and rear doors as well as a separate old key to regulate it. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

4C6FEB27-2512-451D-A8DA-9BF4DB739E2D.jpeg C284BFB8-D366-4C9D-82FB-764382A7C5BC.jpeg 80FF7981-9245-4986-926D-77AD95E69B73.jpeg 58891775-F590-4F4F-9EE0-77C1EB793D19.jpeg 1E6E24F5-AC6F-4AE6-9C62-11FD4036E2E0.jpeg

BogWood likes this.
  2. James McDermaid

James McDermaid Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 29, 2011
    Apparently all Eureka clock movements were made around 1910 to about 1914 in several batches in the UK. They were assembled into cases and sold to the public through that period.

There are several movement versions (tall or short). I don't believe the serial number will get the date closer but if you post it there are members with way more Eureka knowledge than I have. Also does your clock have two or three balls in the bearings.

If it runs and keeps time on 1.5 volts I say you have perfection. These clocks are rare and parts are scarce.

My Eureka keeps as good as, or better time than most of the pendulum clocks in the house.

Jim

3. doby11

doby11 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 6, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag: