Euramca runs fast - sort of a conundrum

Discussion in '400-Day & Atmos' started by Elliott Wolin, Nov 23, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Elliott Wolin

Elliott Wolin Registered User

Nov 18, 2019
    Male
    Retired
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    Country Flag:
    I have a Euramca 2 Jewel clock in good shape, perhaps original never been worked on. It runs fine, but it runs fast (total beginner here...forgive my perhaps incorrect use of terminology).

So I adjusted the pendulum in the "Slower" direction, but the clock stopped because the arms of the pendulum started interfering with the pendulum lift lever below it. I thought perhaps the suspension spring was too long, but there's hardly any room between the top of the pendulum and the flange it locks to when you turn the lift lever. And the lift lever doesn't seem to be bent upwards, at most maybe a tiny bit.

Potential reasons based on my just having read Rabushka's book include 1) someone installed the wrong suspension spring, 2) the posts are somehow too short, 3) fork in the wrong place, 4) wrong weights, 5) wrong pendulum, 6) pendulum lift lever bent or wrong one, 7) other wrong parts.

I'm sure there are other possibilities. Any suggestions on what to look at first?

20191123_143236[1].jpg View attachment 558347 View attachment 558348

20191123_143032[1].jpg 20191123_143043[1].jpg

2. Bod

Bod Registered User

Mar 10, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I'd be inclined to look at lift lever first. Can this be improved?

Bod

3. KurtinSA

KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 24, 2014
    Aerospace Engineer (Ret.)
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: