English club foot escape wheels

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by jagrieff, Jun 4, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. jagrieff

jagrieff Registered User

Jun 4, 2020
    Male
    Watchmaker
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    This is my first post to this forum. Recently I picked up a 3/4 plate Joseph Johnson movement that has a unique style of escape wheel for an English watch. I have been purchasing English fusee watches and movements for many years and have never seen one that did not have the standard ratchet tooth escape wheel. Has this movement been modified or is this a style of escape wheel that was used in English movements? I would appreciate any information on this escape wheel.

IMG_4129.jpeg IMG_9274.jpeg

zacandy and pmwas like this.
  2. Andrew Wilde

Andrew Wilde Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 18, 2020
    Berkshire, UK
    Country Flag:
    Hi - that's a club foot escape wheel, typically found in Swiss lever watches where the balance, lever and escape wheel are in a straight line, rather than the L shape arrangement of the English Lever. I've not seen one in an English lever watch either, but there are more experienced members here who may have.
    I also wonder if the balance wheel looks right - seems overly plain to me, but with the same caveat re more experienced opinions....Andy

3. jagrieff

jagrieff Registered User

Jun 4, 2020
    Male
    Watchmaker
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Andy,