Elgin Montgomery dial verification

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by newrailway, Sep 5, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new home of the NAWCC Message Board
    We are glad to see you have found us Guest. If you like what you find here, please let your friends know about us.
  1. newrailway

newrailway Registered User

Sep 5, 2017
    Hi all,

I've got this on the way, it's a grade 337 Elgin and I was wondering if anyone could give me some more infor on the dial?

It looks to me like a Montgomery as all the seconds are on the dial.

If anyone has any info it would be much appreciated. I am a novice just starting out so any info is welcome!

Thanks.
    View attachment 355673 View attachment 355674

2. RON in PA

RON in PA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 18, 2005
    Welcome to the Message Board.

Your watch is a "sidewinder", that is, a hunter movement in an open face case. The dial is a marginal minute dial as are the Montgomery dials, but if memory serves correctly a true Montgomery dial has a 6 in the seconds sub-dial. Marginal minute dials came in many variations depending on the manufacturer. I suggest you use the search function and look for threads on Montgomery dials and marginal minute dials.

3. newrailway

Sep 5, 2017
    Thanks for the reply, I will check out those threads now.

A question relating to the 'side winder' aspect, were watches ever cased from new in this set up? Or was it swapped at a later date?

4. musicguy

musicguy Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 12, 2017
    #4 musicguy, Sep 5, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
    Nice three finger bridge Elgin

Since these watches were not cased at the factory, but at a jeweler,
    I would think it was possible("ever" is a strong word). I would also think that(over the many years)