Elgin 6s Impulse Jewel

Discussion in 'Watch Repair' started by pcbguy, Nov 4, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. pcbguy

pcbguy Registered User

Oct 29, 2019
    Paramedic
    Melbourne, FL
    Country Flag:
    Hello all.

New to this so I may be missing an obvious answer here.

I was reassembing an Elgin 6s and realized that the impulse jewel was missing. Looked to actually be broken off clean.

I read a bunch about how to remove one and shellac a new one in. Doesn't seem like something for the faint of heart, and since I'm a newbie I thought I better ask first.

Does anyone know of someone in the Orlando area that can do this type of work? Or am I better off getting another one and replacing the whole assembly?

Thank you!

2. musicguy

musicguy Moderator
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jan 12, 2017
    New York State
    Country Flag:
    Hi pcbguy,

Welcome to the NAWCC forum. I moved your post to our
    watch repair section where you will get a better response.

Rob

3. pcbguy

pcbguy Registered User

Oct 29, 2019
    Paramedic
    Melbourne, FL
    Country Flag:
    Thank you! Sorry about that!

4. musicguy

musicguy Moderator
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jan 12, 2017
    New York State
    Country Flag:
    My pleasure I hope someone will answer your question.

Rob

5. Rob P.

Rob P. Registered User

Dec 19, 2011
    California
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    IF you can find a jewel, you'll need to order it in the correct size. That means you'll need to measure the pallet fork and subtract a couple thou. You can try and grab a parts movement and use the roller table from that, just measure the roller and your fork to be sure it'll fit. You can enlarge the fork if necessary.