Edinburgh fusee mainspring problem

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by klokwiz, Nov 9, 2018 at 10:34 AM.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. klokwiz

klokwiz Registered User
    NAWCC Member Donor

Feb 4, 2009
    WRENCH
    Annapolis, MD
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi, I think I have this sorted out but would like a confirmation since I am new to fusee clocks. The chain in this one will not wind far enough on to the fusee to contact the limiting arm to set it into place to end the wind.

I have let down the mainspring to check preset to see if it was too far mound causing spring to be used up. It was not, it was loose allowing the chain to sag at end of run. so it appears to me that this was issue for prior repairperson.

What is happening is at the end of the wind it is running out of spring. there appears to be chain enough to complete wind onto fusee, but the spring is tight in barrel. My assumption is the spring either broke and was shortened or replaced with one too short.

I will be verifying the chain length when I next take it apart, and will then inspect the spring in barrel.

posted photo shows chain at end of wind with spring pulled taught.

questions: 1) am I likely right about mainspring? 2) how much chain should be remaining on barrel at end of wind? 3) if I need a new spring where can I best source one? (since these are so different from most)

movmt back plate.jpg movmt frt.jpg movmt fusee and barrel.jpg movmt fusee ans barrel2.jpg movmt fusee1.jpg movmt1.jpg

2. shutterbug

shutterbug Super Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Oct 19, 2005
    Male
    Self employed interpreter/clock repairer
    Iowa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: