Drilling brass - where do I purchase the drill bits?

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by NEW65, Jan 7, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. NEW65

NEW65 Registered User

Nov 17, 2010
    Male
    Deals in modern reproduction floor clocks.
    United Kingdom
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi. I will be ordering from Mark B soon especially now I have sorted out payment methods :)
    However, we all know that drilling brass with ordinary drill bits isn't a great idea! I know that ordinary drill bits can be filed to make them okay to use in brass, but I have never done this before and would sooner just buy the right bits for the job.
    Any ideas? Did a quick search but they don't seem too popular.
    Cheers

2. glenhead

glenhead Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 15, 2009
    Telecom Engineer
    Williamson County, Texas
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have never seen a set that's sold for brass or other grabby non-ferrous metals such as aluminum. (Maybe I haven't looked hard enough.) I bet if you could find a set it would be cripplingly expensive.

I had the same concerns you did and finally just bought a pack of three inexpensive bits at the hardware store to dub, although ahead of time I called it "destroy". The process is really straightforward, just a kiss with a stone, and after you've done one you'll see that it's not as terrifying as it seems. It's also really effective, which makes it all the more satisfying. I tried one of the new bits, saw that yes, it grabbed, dubbed it, and smiled. I soon bought a complete drill index to dedicate to brass and dubbed them all. (Well, actually first I swapped out the un-dubbed ones for the ones I'd dubbed in the index I already had, but...) Here's an earlier thread where we discussed the process:

Drill bits modified for brass ?

Hope this helps.
    Glen

3. bruce linde

bruce linde Technical Admin