Donn Lathrop & The Ipswich Tower Clock

Discussion in 'Tower, Monumental & Street Clocks' started by jjsantos, Jan 19, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. jjsantos

jjsantos Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 7, 2017
    Country Flag:
    The Ipswich Massachusetts First Church, founded 1634, contacted me about six months ago. They had found out that in mid 2017 I started caretaking a tower clock in nearby Newburyport Massachusetts (an E Howard #2, delivered 1895). Their question was simple: we have this huge rebuilt tower clock in our church office, and we don't know what to do with it! I was a relative novice, having only recently caught the tower clock bug, but gladly took the 30 minute ride down to check it out.

WOW. A 1762 clock, made in England, delivered by ship to Ipswich, probably maker John Hawting of Oxford. But even more interesting is that the reason it was sitting in their office corridor was through the efforts of Donn Lathrop; he had passed away just a short time before. Donn rebuilt the clock and clock face, putting it in a modern 2x4 frame, using the salvaged parts (the clock had been damaged in a fire) while also keeping some of the fire damaged parts for storage. He also electrified the final assembly for operation.

The placement and location of the clock was an inconvenience. I suggested ensuring it was put on permanent display at the local history museum, or consider the Grafton Mass Willard House museum, or even the Smithsonian. Alas, and sadly, it as been taken apart and is now stored in their basement.

This week they sent me Donn's writeup and "instruction manual" for the rebuilt clock, which I share with all of you here... I think you'll find it fascinating.

Cheers
    Jack

Attached Files:

Paul M and Jim DuBois like this.
  2. novicetimekeeper

novicetimekeeper Registered User

Jul 26, 2015
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset