• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Disillusioned Newbie

Baldilocks & the 3 hairs

Jan 10, 2021
Country
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum and wanted to say hello and to also ask for some help. I'm getting frustrated and somewhat disillusioned with not having very much success as a hobbyist. I think I've made a mistake in the belief that buying 'spares or repair' movements on eBay would be a good thing to do as almost all seem to end up in a worse condition than when purchased. I seem to fit the description of "got some gear but no idea". Do you guys have any pointers that will set me on the right path. Many thanks and hope you are all well.

Schatznut

NAWCC Member
Sep 26, 2020
SoCal
Country
Region
Your frustration is coming through loud and clear but it's hard to tell what you're running into from your post. Can you be more specific, like what kind of timepieces you're working on, how they started and how they ended up? I realize this is kind of like baring your soul, but as somewhat of a newbie (at least as compared to some of the long-time pros on this site) I sympathize, because I've turned more than one broken clock into rubble myself!

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
Welcome to the board, Baldilocks

I, and many others, can well understand your frustration.. Yes, some aspects of clock repair are not as easy as people imagine, although some things are surprisingly simple once someone has explained them clearly.

There are lots of experienced people here who will be happy to help you but it would be easier to do so if you could explain more about what you have been trying to do and what troubles you have had. And photos of what you are working on are essential if clear advice is to be given.

You might also like to read some of the books on basic clock repairing. Stephen Conover's books are good, but there are others.