• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Dimier Freres UNO watch runs vertical stops horizontal. Help?

chas58

Jul 27, 2020
Country
Hi
My first post, so I hope this is in the right place.
I'm a newbie and I've almost completed my first stripdown, clean and rebuild on a pocket watch. I started with a cheap non runner. The movement is marked DF&C, it has 7 jewels, is Swiss made and says UNO on the winding gear above the barrel. Pure nickel case and quite slim. I've got it partially rebuilt, haven't put the hands or dial on yet. It's been ticking away for hours in my movement holder, so long as it's vertical,... but If I move it horizontal it soon stops.
I wonder if anyone can suggest what the problem is? And if anyone could tell me roughly how old it is I'd be grateful. There's a couple of dates hand scribed in the case, which I guess were done when it was serviced. One is definitely 1950, the other may be 1930, it's very faint, and has X736 scribed under it.
Google tells me DF&C is Dimier Freres (Brothers) but not much more. Any help and information would be gratefully received.
Thanks

9080E34F-9B58-4F32-B814-E393ADE401DC.jpeg

eri231

Jan 13, 2012
torino italy
Country
Region
A watch from the Swiss watch manufacturer "Dimier Freres" (DF&C) works in the watch. The La Chaux de Fonds factory was founded by Georges Dimier, probably in the mid 19th century. An exact date of foundation is not known, but the registration of the name "Dimier Freres & Co." took place in 1902. The "DF&C" brand was secured in 1896.
It can be assumed that their father Georges died and that the sons George and Edward took over and renamed the manufacture during this period.
Other brands of the manufacture were: "DAMIRA", "DIMRA", "GD", "DB", "DFC", "JAZ", "SELEX", "TEXINA", "TIC-TAC" and "UNO". The manufactory produced watches, cases and watch parts.