• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center will reopen starting Wednesday, January 6, 2021 as per Governor Wolf's reopening mandate.

Dating Kundo Anniversary Clock plus Pendulum

cuffyf

NAWCC Member
Dec 31, 2016
Country
Hello Everybody, My name is Charlie and I've been collecting 400 day clocks for about 2 years, so bear with me concerning clock nomenclature...I just received a K & O clock, Ebay# 282332200538 (Pictures) under "Completed Listing"..I bought the clock due to its serial# 4129. I figure it's 1st year of production. The dial is porcelain. I bought another K & O a few months back with ser# 13056, but that one has a metal face with a correct K & O pendulum. I was wondering what the date of production is on the clock. The second question involves the pendulum which is not in the Horolovar Book. It looks similar to # 39, a Schatz from 1905, but the pendulum has a flair fitting like the Wurthner# 42 on the pendulum shaft. The surprise was when I flipped the pendulum upsidedown, there was a Patent# DRGM No 403658! I checked the Horolovar Book Patent Listings and the last patent number for Germany was a 200,000 number from 1912. The next number was a 1,400,000 number from 1952. So, does the patent number fit the 1st year of production of 1923?. I honestly think the pendulum is legit for the clock, but I also think that Schatz must have had a fit because of the similarity with their pendulum.....What do ya think?

KurtinSA

NAWCC Member
Nov 24, 2014
San Antonio, TX
Country
Region
Welcome! I couldn't find that ebay number. [Edit - I was able to find the listing.] As for the patent number, I just did a search of it on the forum and found some interesting posts by John Hubby that might help with the dating.

It would be nice to see some pictures of the clock and pendulum.

Kurt

Last edited:

etmb61

NAWCC Member
Oct 25, 2010
Mascoutah, IL
Country
Region