Daniel Pratt Column and Splat wit Mirror front

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by Rockin Ronnie, Jan 28, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Rockin Ronnie

Rockin Ronnie Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 18, 2012
    Male
    retired educator
    Greenfield, Nova Scotia
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I was at an estate auction today. They had a number of old clocks. I won the bid on a George H Clark ogee which I will post later. However my wife who accompanied me, nudged me and said "bid on that one". I was not particularly interested in the Daniel Pratt clock but neither was anyone else and won the bid for 30CDN.

It is a column and splat Daniel Pratt Jr. shelf clock with a rosewood (I think) case, wooden movement (2-weight) and wooden dial both of which appear at first glance to be original to the clock. I have no knowledge of wooden movements and not sure that I will ever work on this one. It may be for display purposes only.. It also looks to have been worked on at one point in the past.

Ant information on the clock or the year it was made would be appreciated.

Ron

RS Daniel Pratt.jpg RS Daniel Pratt_6.jpg RS Daniel Pratt_7.jpg RS Daniel Pratt_8.jpg RS Daniel Pratt_9.jpg

Peter A. Nunes and George Nelson like this.
  2. Sooth

Sooth Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 19, 2005
    Cabinetmaker
    Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    It doesn't really have columns. If anything it's a "reverse ogee" and splat. I still think this was an absolutely fantastic find. You can barely buy a wood dial for 30$.

3. Rockin Ronnie

NAWCC Member

Nov 18, 2012
    Male
    retired educator
    Greenfield, Nova Scotia
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I will go with that description.This movement does not appear to have brass bushings. Regular clock oil for the movement?

Ron

4. George Nelson

George Nelson Registered User