Cutting dome

Discussion in '400-Day & Atmos' started by tracerjack, Sep 12, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. tracerjack

tracerjack Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 6, 2016
    Female
    Lodi, CA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Has anyone tried cutting down a glass dome? The Koma midget I have came with a modern seven inch miniature size dome. So not a valuable dome. It is the right size in width, but wrong height. I can’t find glass or acrylic domes in four by six inch size. That’s what got me thinking about cutting down the one I have, but am hoping I can get some guidance before I attempt something I’ve never done before.

2. KurtinSA

KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 24, 2014
    Aerospace Engineer (Ret.)
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I went through a period to try and find a dome for an older clock of mine...the dome sits in a groove in the base so I had to have a specific width...and it's an unusually tall clock. I finally got something at glassdomes.com but they did the cutting for me.

Leading up to that, I thought I had something that might work...it wouldn't fit in the groove but would rest on top of the bass. I bought it at HobbyLobby. I took it to a place here in town, Thad Ziegler glass. They attempted to cut it but the glass was not very good and it cracked. No charge and I was out only $30. It was worth a shot.

Consider HobbyLobby, Michaels, etsy as well. I attend estate sales when I see some clock that might be worth checking out...occasionally, I've seen generic domes at those places and I just buy them because they're $5.