Curious on the base metal for this case

BtoGtoF

Mar 2, 2021
Country
Hey everyone, I’m looking to get some explanation on this watch case I’m looking to buy. I’m new to horology but I do know certain cases (Nickel especially) can cause allergenic issues. I’m also worried about Chrome plated cases wearing off and even the toxicity of the Chrome is a big negative. I’m wondering if anyone could tell me what exactly Keystone Base Metal means, and what the “CO” signifies, if it doesn’t mean Co as in Company. Could anyone tell me if they think that the case top is covered in a Chrome plate, or maybe some other type of non precious metal? Thank you
D0393298-8631-44A6-BB4D-973D8B0E1CDD.jpeg F25C28A1-D2F9-47A6-A51A-4DA88BFA8AEF.jpeg

RL

Mar 28, 2004
Country
Yes---some type of non precious metal (plated). As I understand it-- Keystone watch case co. was a conglomerate that made cases for several watch companies.

roughbarked

Dec 2, 2016
Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
Country
Region
Specific definitions from Wiki:
In contrast to noble metals, base metals may be distinguished by oxidizing or corroding relatively easily and reacting variably with diluted hydrochloric acid (HCl) to form hydrogen. Examples include iron, nickel, lead and zinc. Copper is also considered a base metal because it oxidizes relatively easily, although it does not react with HCl.

In mining and economics, the term base metals refers to industrial non-ferrous metals excluding precious metals. These include copper, lead, nickel and zinc.

The U.S. Customs and Border Protection agency is more inclusive in its definition of commercial base metals. Its list includes—in addition to copper, lead, nickel, and zinc—the following metals: iron and steel, aluminium, tin, tungsten, molybdenum, tantalum, cobalt, bismuth, cadmium, titanium, zirconium, antimony, manganese, beryllium, chromium, germanium, vanadium, gallium, hafnium, indium, niobium, rhenium, and thallium, and their alloys.

boganll