Curious about my early English tall case. Can anyone help?

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by ANTIQUECUCKOOCLOCK.ORG, Feb 8, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. ANTIQUECUCKOOCLOCK.ORG

ANTIQUECUCKOOCLOCK.ORG Registered User

Dec 28, 2011
    COLLECTOR, RESTORER, PRESERVER, TRADER.
    I got this lovely tall case in a trade years ago, I never looked much into it. Can anyone help shed some light on it?
    I liked it because I thought it was pretty early, and the case style I thought was a nice one.
    Interested to know more. Many thanks.

aaa.jpg aaab.jpg bbnn.jpg ccvb.jpg cvv.jpg eert.jpg ff.jpg fff.jpg ssd.jpg ttyy.jpg vvbb.jpg

2. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    I am by no means an expert on long case clocks but can tell you that Weller & Magson were prolific watch and clock makers in the first half of the 18th century. From what I can tell, the movement would seem to fit the date.

As for the case, I am not so sure. I wonder if this is one of those cases which the Victorians couldn't leave alone and had to cover with carving - I may be well be wrong and someone with more knowledge than I will be along to tell us. But the Victorians had a habit of taking 18th century plain wooden items and covering 'improving' them with carving. I have what would be a very nice 18thC bureau which has been 'improved' in this way...............

Hope this helps a little.

3. jmclaugh

jmclaugh Registered User

Jun 1, 2006
    Devon
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    A nice longcase with a number of features that indicate it is very early 1700s such as ringed winding holes and half quarter markers outside the minute band. I agree with JTD's comments re the carvings.