Help Cuckoo Clock Hands Don't Move to Set Clock

FinalPythagoras

Jun 17, 2020
Brighton, CO
Country
Region
I am an amateur, and this is the first clock I have ever tried to rebuild.

The clock was so frozen up, and filled with dust, dirt, etc.... that I decided to disassembled the entire movement, cleaned it in clock cleaning fluid, dried it and put it back together. I bought a Cuckoo Clock repair book to help on this journey, and lubricated the moving shafts where they hold onto the top and bottom plates. I made a test stand, and have had the movement running all day. Its running very smooth, except for one issue.

Everything seems to work as it should, and the weights are moving down just as they should... except that the hands cannot be moved from the outside of the movement (oops). I did check to make sure the shaft (minute hand) and sleeve (hour hand) turned freely when I put it back together. The movement is a Hubert Herr movement, and a one day clock.

The center shaft with sleeve (that holds the hands) has a spring on the shaft in the middle of the movement, and I was reading other posts that talk about a clutch. Is that what I am seeing with the spring? and if so... what could be going wrong that I need to fix? Any help is appreciated. I'm sure several members have fixed many Cuckoo Clocks, and can help point me in the right direction. I have the feeling the movement is going to have to be disassembled again to fix whatever I need to fix.

I hope the pictures help, but I will take more if necessary. I have a bunch that show the dust and dirt, with some taken when the movement back plate was removed... let me know if those would help.

IMG_4091.jpg IMG_4093.jpg IMG_4094.jpg IMG_4096.jpg

roughbarked

Dec 2, 2016
Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
Country
Region