Cuckoo can't count.

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by NoviceCuckoo, Feb 18, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. NoviceCuckoo

NoviceCuckoo New Member

Feb 18, 2018
    Female
    Country Flag:
    Hello! I am the proud owner of a beautiful cuckoo clock I bought in Germany this Fall. It has an eight day movement with a music box. It keeps time and there are no issues with the music box.
    The problem is inconsistencies in the number of cuckoo's. At the hour it usually cuckoos only once, but periodically I will get 2, 3, 4, 10, or 11 cuckoo's. On the half hour I get 1-2 cuckoo's. The bird and door operate smoothly.
    I took off the face so I could see if anything was obviously hung up in the movement. In my professional opinion as a nurse, I don't see anything that stands out.
    I really know nothing at all about clocks other than what I've been reading for the past week or so.
    Attached are some pictures.Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thank you!

20180202_143155.jpg 20180202_143542.jpg 20180202_143550.jpg 20180202_143555.jpg 20180218_122104.jpg 20180218_122213.jpg 20180218_122308.jpg 20180218_122318.jpg 20180218_122327.jpg

2. rodlloyd

rodlloyd Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 16, 2010
    Male
    Rainier OREGON
    Country Flag:
    Try rotating the gathering pallet so the pin is deeper in the rack tooth when at rest. It is held just friction tight.

Rod

3. THTanner

THTanner Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jul 3, 2016
    Male
    Carson City, Nevada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: