Cowells CW90 vs Sherline for Watchmaking

Rook

Oct 12, 2020
Country
Hello all,

I understand these lathes are in completely different prices ranges. My goal is to make a movement and watch completely from scratch, apart from jewels and springs. I would be able to get a basic set up for Cowells, or a complete Sherline setup with some change. Will I be able to make a complete wristwatch with the Sherline? There are multiple resources for watchmaking with the cowells, but has anyone made a wristwatch with the Sherline lathe? It seems like there is no clear consensus on whether or not the Sherline can make all watch parts. One thing about the cowells for me is that I am in the US and it would take a few months to come. If I got the cowells setup, I would be making or getting more attachments as I go. I am fine with either setup. I am just starting out and would appreciate any help you could give.

doc_fields

Sep 29, 2004
Greentop, MO
precisionclockandwatch.blogspot.com
Country
Region
Welcome to the message board!

Here is a website I visit often. He uses a Cowells lathe setup to make his watch, but it's not quite finished. Very good and informative website.

www.watchmaking.weebly.com

.........................gary

gmorse

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2011
Breamore, Hampshire, UK
Country
Region
Hi Rook, and welcome,

The Sherline equipment is more than capable of making everything you need, and would cost far less for a comprehensive setup. The Cowells lathes are excellent, (I have a 90ME), but very expensive, especially for all the necessary accessories. One of our members here, Jerry Kieffer, will no doubt be along to explain in more detail what the Sherline system is capable of.

Regards,

Graham

Reactions: DeweyC

DeweyC

NAWCC Member
Feb 5, 2007
Baltimore
www.historictimekeepers.com
Country
Hello all,