Clock Running Slow

sandy06230

Feb 24, 2021
Country
Hi,
This is my first time owning a key wound clock and first time on the forum. I recently purchased a Seth Thomas, 1962 Woodbury Mantle clock A401. I cleaned and oiled the pivots and got the clock in beat. The clock now runs and chimes ok but it seem to be losing time. In the last 12 hours, the clock has slowed by 7 minutes. The pendulum bob weighs 2.44 oz and the pendulum leader is approximately 1.75" long. I've played around with the adjustment nut on the bottom of the bob and find that even when it's in the highest position possible, the clock still seems to lose time. I'm wondering if I should try purchasing a lighter bob or short leader. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1a69.jpg UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1a68.jpg

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
Hello Sandy, and welcome to the forum!
It looks like everything is right. You might check out a thicker suspension spring. Also look to see if there's anything preventing the pendulum bob from going any higher. It looks like there's plenty of room there.
Have you done anything else to it? It may just need a full service ... polishing pivots and installing bushings.

sandy06230

Feb 24, 2021
Country
Hi Shutterbug,