Help Clock Mainspring Arbor Hook

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by timbo19, Feb 17, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. timbo19

timbo19 Registered User

Dec 28, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    As a beginner, I am having problems winding a new spring on to this arbor. Is the hook too worn or should I just keep trying to bend the end of the new spring to fit around the arbor. The posts I have read say that it can take a long time to get the new spring attached but I was wondering if anyone could tell me if it is worth keeping on trying or if I need a new hook. Is there an easy way of fitting a new hook? I see there are many posts on this but not sure of the best approach. Many thanks.

P2170062.JPG P2170062.JPG P2170063.JPG P2170062.JPG P2170063.JPG P2170056.JPG

2. Uhralt

Uhralt Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 4, 2008
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    That arbor hook should be able to grip the spring. Probably you need to form the inner end of the spring so that it nicely fits on the arbor. If you want, you can clean up the area under the hook a bit with a needle file to make it less rounded but I think it should work as is.

Uhralt

Kevin W. likes this.
  3. heifetz17

heifetz17 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 8, 2015
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have issues with this as well from time to time. What's the best method to form the inner end of the spring? Often I find they're rigid enough that I can't actually manipulate the end because the spring just coils up when I try.

4. timbo19

timbo19 Registered User

Dec 28, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Thanks Uhralt - I will try to clean the hook a little then re-align the spring around the arbor - I'll let you know how I get on. Thanks again. Tim

5. Willie X

Willie X Registered User

Feb 9, 2008