Cleaning old movement

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Withoutink, Feb 18, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Withoutink

Withoutink Registered User

Jan 23, 2014
    North GA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi All,

I recently bought a 1890's school house regulator and the movement is pretty gross. I am not wanting to attempt to take the whole movement apart as I am a newbie to clocks. I read a few threads about dips... I wanted to be sure I have this correct before I screw something up.

Since the clock movement is pretty grimy, I bought some Naphtha from Lowes. From what I understand I can use this (outside, with gloves etc)... To soak the brass mechanism and it should eat up all the funky greasy, grimy bits.

After that, I should rinse the movement in hot water.

Then a quick soak in Denatured alcohol should remove any water from the movement.

Lastly, I will need to reoil the pivots etc...

Couple questions:

1. Am I missing any steps?
    2. Do I need to take a toothbrush to the movement while soaking in the Naphtha? Or will it do its thing all on it's own?
    3. How long can I soak the brass movement in the Naphtha?
    4. How long in the denatured alcohol?
    5. Mainspring re-oiling.... This bit I have no clue as how or what to do.... can someone help me out with this?

Thanks guys!

2. doug sinclair

doug sinclair Registered User

Aug 27, 2000
    Calgary, Alberta
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: