Clarke, Gilbert has a weight problem

James Lucas

Aug 25, 2020
Hello all, I picked up a Clarke, Gilbert & Co. OG Improved Brass Clock. I disassembled it, clean, re-bushed and reassembled. The weights that came with it are 3lb 2.7oz on the strike and 2lb 5.2oz on the time. Put the movement back into the case and found that the Strike weight is far to heavy. There are no markings on the movement. Appears to be the same as the Seth Thomas. Question, did I leave something out of the reassembly. The strike works with only a 2lb weight. the time side is working fine with the original. Obviously I'm new at this. Any suggestions as to where to find the problem would be appreciated. Thank you.

IMG_0660.JPG IMG_0661.JPG IMG_0662.JPG IMG_0663.JPG IMG_0664.JPG IMG_0665.JPG IMG_0666.JPG

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
Check the fan, to be sure it is not slipping and allowing the strike train to run too fast. If that's not the issue, switch the weights around and see how that works. The time side won't be terribly affected by the increase in weight, although it may wear faster. Alternately, get lighter weights.

James Lucas

Aug 25, 2020
Check the fan, to be sure it is not slipping and allowing the strike train to run too fast. If that's not the issue, switch the weights around and see how that works. The time side won't be terribly affected by the increase in weight, although it may wear faster. Alternately, get lighter weights.
Thanks shutterbug, the only thing I see is that the lantern pinion wires are pretty worn. I've tried switching weights with very little difference

Last edited:

James Lucas

Aug 25, 2020
Thanks shutterbug, the only thing I see is that the lantern pinion wires are pretty worn. I've tried switching weights with very little difference
After a more testing, using a 1lb 10oz weight and raised to the top, the strike is fast and as the weight drops about 1/4 of the way the strike begins to slow.

Willie X