Cant get gathering pallet off of Hubert Herr cuckoo 8 day

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Chris M., Feb 23, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Chris M.

Chris M. Registered User
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Sep 15, 2018
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello - Trying to get a Hubert Herr cuckoo clock running for a friend. I have never worked on a Hubert Herr movement before. Not too worried (taking lots of photos as I disassemble the movement) but I can not get the gathering pallet off. I have tried some Liquid Wrench on the arbor and have tried prying the gathering pallet off with various implements with no success. I have bent the arbor some (and scratched up the front plate some - not happy about this), but hope to bend it back straight(ish) once I get the gathering pallet off. Any tricks would be much appreciated. Thank you, Chris M.

2. POWERSTROKE

POWERSTROKE Registered User

Jan 11, 2011
    Have you tried a hand puller? Is that pivot hole bad? Maybe leave it be if the pivot hole is ok.

3. Vernon

Vernon Registered User
    NAWCC Member Donor

Dec 9, 2006
    Gardener/Arborist
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I use one of these pullers or the pry bars from opposing sides with even pressure. Some use paint can openers

IMG_20200223_201206.jpg

Bruce Alexander likes this.
  4. TEACLOCKS

TEACLOCKS Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 22, 2005
    Male
    Clock service & repair
    Santa Rosa Calif.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    small torch or soldering iron to pallet while using puller.
    Good luck

5. Bruce Alexander

Bruce Alexander Registered User
    Sponsor NAWCC Brass Member

Feb 22, 2010
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: