Can anyone tell me about this cuckoo clock?

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by randall977, May 18, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. randall977

randall977 Registered User

Jan 10, 2016
    Architect
    Oxfordshire
    Country Flag:
    I bought a cuckoo clock yesterday as I liked the look of it and the movement appears to be good quality. It works fine but I have very little knowledge about this type of clock and would love to know who the maker might be and what age it is...

Cuckoo-1.jpg Cuckoo-2.jpg Cuckoo-3.jpg

2. Burkhard Rasch

Burkhard Rasch Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 1, 2007
    Male
    General-and trauma surgeon
    Twistringen
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Congrats to that one,indeed a verry good one,and spring driven,an unusual feature for a wall cuckoo.Thick cast plates pin secured point to the time before WW I,and the carving is delicate.Maybe the specialized black forest collectors will know more.
    Best regards
    Burkhard

3. randall977

Jan 10, 2016
    Architect
    Oxfordshire
    Country Flag:
    Thanks for the reply, I'm intrigued to know more! There appears to be the initials G or C with a dot in the middle on the rivets that hold the terrible sounding gong to the rear door.

4. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    Please could you post a photo of the letter on the gong base?

JTD

5. randall977

Jan 10, 2016
    Architect
    Oxfordshire
    Country Flag:
  6. randall977

Jan 10, 2016
    Architect
    Oxfordshire
    Country Flag:
    'G' is probably for Gong I guess...

7. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    Thanks for posting the pictures. I have never seen anything like this before - they almost look like ancient 'smileys'!

I don't think they are G for gong, and I am not 100% sure it's a G - if you turn them around they are almost the same as the Greek letter Omega. I just don't know.