Can anyone recognise this?

Phil G4SPZ

NAWCC Member
Oct 18, 2018
Bewdley, Worcestershire, UK
Country
Region
Hello everyone. After a lengthy closure, the Museum where I work as a volunteer has found this clock under a bed, where it appears to have lain for some decades. It contains what appears to be a well-worn and punched-up Welch movement which has had its striking train removed. No makers’ names are visible on the 12” diameter dial, case or movement.

I plan to restore the clock as a timepiece only, for use in the Museum’s Chapel. It would be interesting to know if it’s American or Anglo-American, and how old it might be.

Many thanks!

Phil
BF6D1312-B955-40F3-B653-3FDCD8A5B2F1.jpeg

Reactions: Salsagev

Steven Thornberry

User Administrator
Staff member
NAWCC Member
Jan 15, 2004
Here and there
Country
It certainly appears to be Anglo-American. Can’t be sure about the date, possibly 1870’s or 1880’s. What’s the movement look like?

Phil G4SPZ

NAWCC Member
Oct 18, 2018
Country
Region
Hello Steven,

I didn't take a photo of this clock's movement, but it's virtually identical to the movement in the photo below, which I'm reliably assured is by E N Welch. Minus the strike train, of course...!

Welch movement.jpg

Phil

novicetimekeeper

Jul 26, 2015
Dorset
Country
Region
It has two winding holes, doesn't it have a strike train?

Steven Thornberry

User Administrator
Staff member
NAWCC Member
Jan 15, 2004
Here and there
Country
With such a "J.C.Brown-style" Welch movement, I might be willing to place the clock a decade earlier, i. e., 1860's to 1870's.

BTW, if you are familiar with Peter Gosnell, you might do well to run this clock by him for comments. One of his interests are these Anglo-American clocks.

Last edited:
Reactions: Phil G4SPZ

Phil G4SPZ

NAWCC Member
Oct 18, 2018
Country
Region
Steven, thank you very much for your interest and advice.