Calibrating Chime w/Hour Seth Thomas Eclipse

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by CSIMelissa, Jan 15, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. CSIMelissa

CSIMelissa Registered User

Jun 3, 2018
    Female
    Country Flag:
    Ok, I'm a newbie to clock collecting so this is probably a silly question. On my Seth Thomas Eclipse ball top the chime and the hour are not calibrated where the chime strikes the correct number of times on the hour. My other clocks have a little wire you push up to activate the chime and I have set those clocks correctly that way. This clock does not have that. Thoughts? Thanks!

2. Jim Hartog

Jim Hartog Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 6, 2010
    house husband
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello Melissa?

Both the lyre movement and the #44 movement used in the Seth Thomas Eclipse use a trip wire that hangs down on the right side (time side) of the movement. The wire is pulled down to trip the strike train vs the push up of the ones on the left side (strike side). Look for something on the right side. Failing that, let the clock strike the hour and then move the hour hand (it is just a friction fit but may be tight if it has been on for a while) to the correct hour. I believe the movement either does not strike the half hour or strikes the half hour in passing (doesn't use the count wheel) so just moving the hour hand should work. I may be wrong. Others may make comment.

Jim

3. CSIMelissa

CSIMelissa Registered User

Jun 3, 2018
    Female
    Country Flag:
    Thanks Jim. I'll try moving the hour hand as there is no trip wire. I haven't opened up the clock and while I believe the movement is Seth Thomas, I tend to think it's not original to the clock because there are screw holes in the backing of the clock with nothing in them

4. shutterbug

shutterbug Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Oct 19, 2005