C.F. ROCHLITZ Berlin selfwinding church clock

Discussion in 'Tower, Monumental & Street Clocks' started by pidragos, Jan 13, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. pidragos

pidragos Registered User
    Donor

Nov 27, 2012
    Male
    Mechanical Engineer; aviation parts manufacturing
    Sibiu, Romania
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi Everybody,
    I have a new big challenge in my area, an interesting self winding church clock made by the German manufacturer C.F. Rochlitz, according identification plate.
    The clock is complete and looks functional after few trials, but the main point is to get it cleaned.
    My big concern is the restoration of the dials. I have no experience with glass dials and back lighting. The dials have to be repainted and new numbers too...
    Looks hard to dismantle them from the fixing points; What kind of paint to use and any indication for number templates?
    I need some directions please! Thanks

PS In the past the clock was connected to a master electrical clock placed in the city-hall, but not available anymore. Excepting the electrical staff used for winding the weights, rest of the wires etc were used for the master clock.
    Last picture shows the automatic switch for the winding system.
    Dragos

IMG_1779.JPG IMG_1784.JPG IMG_1786.JPG IMG_1802.JPG IMG_1803.JPG IMG_1806.JPG IMG_1807.JPG IMG_1808.JPG IMG_1825.JPG IMG_1827.JPG

2. pidragos

pidragos Registered User
    Donor

Nov 27, 2012
    Male
    Sibiu, Romania
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    and by the way, I found no info on internet about Rochlitz manufacturer in Berlin Germany, only the fact that they still exists, starting 1824...and nothing more

3. BLKBEARD

BLKBEARD Registered User

Nov 15, 2016
    HVAC, MECHANIC, CLOCK REPAIRER
    CT
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    You find all the great projects. I'll be following this with great enthusiasm!