Bushing repair

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Kipster, Feb 11, 2019 at 1:45 PM.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Kipster

Kipster Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 5, 2019
    Male
    Retired
    Neenah, WI
    Country Flag:
    Hi all,

I am interested in putting bushings in regula 25, 34 and Hubert Herr cuckoo clocks. I am fairly new to clock repair. I have decided to start with hand tools. So I am considering KWM or Bergeron hand tools. What specific hand tool, reamer, cutter and adapter do you recommend. Also what specific bushing sizes do I need for the above listed movement types. I only want to purchase what specifically is required to repair cuckoo clock movements. I have read a lot of the bushing posts and I still am a little confused on what to purchase. I am just starting out and I really don’t want to make any mistakes. I want to get started slowly and buy additional tools as required. There is really no one in the area that can help me learn, so I am using the resources from your library,etc. Thanks

2. David S

David S Registered User
    NAWCC Member Donor

Dec 18, 2011
    Male
    Inventor, Professional Engineer - Retired
    Brockville, On Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the forum Kipster.

Have you looked at this thread Bushing Using Hand Tools

The KWM system bushing are slightly smaller in outside diameter than the Bergeon and thus are preferred by some members. Other than that they will both suffice and have corresponding reamers.

David

3. David S

David S Registered User
    NAWCC Member Donor

Dec 18, 2011
    Male
    Brockville, On Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I don't work on a lot of cuckoo clocks, so I hoped that others would have come up with some suggestions. It sounds like you want a minimum investment to get started so I would start with the KWM system.