Building my first clock movement.

Discussion in 'Clock Construction' started by Harry Hopkins, Nov 24, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Harry Hopkins

Harry Hopkins Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 16, 2011
    Retired Instrument Technician
    Mason, IL
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Greetings all, One of the items on my bucket list has long been building a clock movement. I have about 25 years experience repairing clocks as a hobby. I retired about 3 years ago and since then have been acquiring necessary tooling, etc to start my project. This year I also attended 2 NAWCC classes in Columbia taught by Jerry Kieffer that have filled in most of my gaps as far as skills are concerned. Both of the classes I took were centered around the milling machine and cutting wheels and pinions including making your own cutters. I do not have a background in machining but the classes I took taught me to think like a machinist. I started a website that shows the progress of my movement and I thought those on this forum might be interested. I welcome comments and suggestions. I know there must be easier ways to doing some of the things I have photos of.

http://harrysclockshop.weebly.com/

Harry Hopkins
    Mason, IL

2. Tinker Dwight

Tinker Dwight Registered User

Oct 11, 2010
    Calif. USA
    Fantastic
    Tinker Dwight

3. caddwg

caddwg Registered User

Jul 4, 2012
    Architect, Engineer
    Costa Mesa, Ca
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Harry:
    As already mentioned on the "Clockmakers Newsletter Board", Everything looks great and thanks for sharing here also. It appears you've done a great job and we look forward to your completed movement. I'm quite sure you'll receive a lot of satisfaction during the process. Good Luck and Best Regards: Larry

4. Allan Wolff

Allan Wolff Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Mar 17, 2005
    Male
    Tulsa, OK
    Country Flag: