build a pendulum clock

Discussion in 'Clock Construction' started by teslak, Dec 30, 2012.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. teslak

teslak Registered User

Dec 30, 2012
    #1 teslak, Dec 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2018
    Hi all,

my name is Dieter I am 50 years old and I live in Middle Franconia in Germany. I am passionate about second clocks. Since I am still learning English, are still a lot of mistakes in my text.
    When building my clock, I am guided by the Hermann Goertz watches from Glashütte in Saxony. Feature of his watches was that all wheels and pinions were arranged in a line with each other, which I particularly like.
    Aufriss_Räder_Version47.pdf Aufriss_Räder_Version41.pdf

Best regards,
    Dieter

Attached Files:

2. tok-tokkie

tok-tokkie Registered User

Nov 25, 2010
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Country Flag:
    That clock has ball bearings on all its arbors. Is that your design or did Goertz use ball bearings back in the 1860s? Very handsome clock; I look forward to your progress reports. I notice the two C springs for the maintain power so the force is balanced - a nice detail.

3. teslak

teslak Registered User

Dec 30, 2012
    Hello tok tokkie,
    No, the ball bearing, I have integrated, because I want do without lubrication. That's why I put a ball bearing ceramic on all axes. The wheels and pinions get a DLC coating so omitted here the lubricating film can.
    here are some pictures of the already-built parts watches

We begin with the center wheel
    3518.jpg

3519.jpg

35181.jpg

All parts are manufactured with me on my machine

Here is the making of the gear shaft
    3842.jpg

align in some apparatus
    3854.jpg

Einrichtblatt zum Fräsen.jpg
    Milling cutters with Thornton
    3857.jpg

The finished blanks here
    3862.jpg
    3863.jpg

best regards
    Dieter

4. Jim DuBois

Jim DuBois Registered User