Broken mainspring abour

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Beer o'clock, Dec 9, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Beer o'clock

Beer o'clock New Member

Dec 8, 2016
    Country Flag:
    Hi, I am a beginner and I need a little bit of advice. I am trying to repair a Seth Thomas number 89 movement. I dismantled and cleaned the movement however on trying to engage the main spring back onto its arbour I managed to break the arbour.

This occurred no doubt to me applying to much tension with my home made mainspring winder! I would like to replace the arbour, ratchet and first wheel as one assemble simply because I have no idea how to remove the ratchet and first wheel off the arbour. I think I am in enough deep water already!

Is there anywhere I could purchase this assembly, first wheel, ratchet and arbour so that I can just reattach the mainspring? Second hand or new is fine.

2. roughbarked

roughbarked Registered User

Dec 2, 2016
    watchmaker
    Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    What you probably need is a donor clock movement.

3. kinsler33

kinsler33 Registered User

Aug 17, 2014
    Male
    Science teacher, writer
    Lancaster, Ohio, USA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    See if you can post a few pictures of the broken part and the ST movement itself. The people who read these posts are exceedingly skilled and clever, and may be able to help you get around this particular misfortune; but they'll need to look at a picture or preferably several.

4. bikerclockguy

bikerclockguy Registered User
    Donor

Jul 22, 2017
    Country Flag: