Brand you collect most

Patrick Brady

NAWCC Member
May 20, 2019
Country
Region
The post on Factory Hamilton Cases got me thinking about my short collecting journey. I'm new to pocket watches and went into it thinking I'd be collecting mostly Hamilton RR grades. My first was a Hamilton 950 bought at an estate jewelry store in Charleston, SC. It was a random find that set me on my path, and I absolutely would not part with it. After a year and a half, however, I find myself with more Illinois, Elgin, and Waltham than Hamilton. Part of the reason is that I'm fascinated with watches from the 1860's. I'm still a huge fan of Hamilton and have added a few since the 950. My question is what brand do you collect most and why?

IMG_0521.jpg IMG_0529.jpg

John Cote

Director
Director
NAWCC Member
Aug 26, 2000
Midwest USA
www.interstatetime.com
Country
I probably have more Illinois in my collection but after 45 years collecting what I find is that I have a bunch of little collections in the safe deposit box. I have 3 finger bridge Elgins, 12 size high grades in their boxes, 18s early Waltham Vanguards, Marked 18s Hamiltons...on and on. I collect what I like at the time and keep fleshing it out. From time to time I sell off what is no longer interesting.

Rick Hufnagel

Just Rick!
NAWCC Member
Donor
Oct 25, 2018
Pittsburgh pa
Country
Region
Well.... I've always been an Elgin guy at heart. I've turned more towards the first ten years of the company however.
Why? My first watch is an Elgin, and have been fascinated with them ever since.

I don't think limiting myself to a certain manufacturer is a black and white thing, I love many earlier american companies, but by the numbers and what I put the most time into studying, Elgin is the first on the list.