Bought a New Camera

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by Clint Geller, Apr 13, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Our Donation Service is back after a brief absence to fix the payment service. Please give it a try! Donate
  1. Clint Geller

Clint Geller Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    I am a research physicist at a government lab
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #1 Clint Geller, Apr 13, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2019
    Well, my old Nikon D100 has just been retired after 18 years of use. I just replaced it with a new Nikon D850, which takes me from 8 Mexapixels up to 45.7 Megapixels. The sensor and color density, and other related software are also much improved. So I shot these pix with my new camera, my same old but excellent Nikon 60mm/f2.8 micro lens (everyone else calls these "macro" lenses, but Nikon calls it a micro lens), a new electronic remote shutter release, and a right angle viewer on my old copy stand. I shot the pix in aperture priority mode at f14 for good depth of field. The subject is one of the two extravagant 65th birthday presents I recently bought myself: an American Grade 20 Size, 20 jewel Waltham, SN 150,024, with Stratton's patent barrel and Fogg's vibrating hairspring stud regulator. The 18K case is by Celestine Jacot & Brother.

But of course, even cropped, the original JPG's were too big to post here. :)

DSC_0014.JPG DSC_0016.JPG DSC_0017.JPG DSC_0025.JPG

2. musicguy

musicguy Moderator
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jan 12, 2017
    New York State
    Country Flag:
    Sweet! They look so sharp. I look forward to seeing more
    of your photographs with this new D850

Rob

Clint Geller likes this.
  3. Clint Geller

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: