BLINKING EYE CLOCK, FACT CHECK FAMILY HISTORY

Jim NZ

May 6, 2021
Country
Hi from New Zealand. I have got this old clock operating again. It has had a very hard life, including being retrieved from a farm house fire in 1904, seriously dropped and case damaged... but it has been with the same family for 5 generations. Documented family history with it suggests it was brought from Scotland then taken to a remote farm in NZ in 1859. Question is: Could the clock actually be that old...1859....or is an earliest date estimate possible? While there is a lot written about Blinking Eye clocks on the Internet I have no real knowledge about them. Much I have read seems contradictory or wrong and also there seem to be many copies or reproductions. I am confident the family would be pleased if the historical record could be confirmed or corrected. Thank you.

F507B329-DF64-4A57-A200-2421D8C42BFE.jpeg 88C66B21-2427-4630-B8C3-75BB98F5EF0E.jpeg 9826266C-528E-4293-BC74-AB0987C202F6.jpeg 00E27454-233D-49F9-9FB7-D8D3A2DDB1FE.jpeg

rmarkowitz1_cee4a1

NAWCC Member
Nov 26, 2009
Country
Another scarce American clock showing up in New Zealand!

You have clock called a "blinker" or "blinking eye" clock.

They were figural clocks. The cases were painted cast iron and made by the Bradley and Hubbard Company of Meridan CT.

It might have made its way to Scotland and then New Zealand? The date is about right.

Your particular clock is called "the Cavalier".

The case of your clock is, well, a bit in the rough. Damage to the base, bezel door and glass missing, repapered dial, replaced hands, looks repainted. But still very worthwhile!

The movements were small 30 time only lever movements made by a variety of companies. Not sure what showing the back plate adds?

I love these clocks. A search of the Forums will yield further information. For example, see this:

Marine clocks | NAWCC Forums

See specifically postings # 30, #53, and # 59. Information and rec's for further reading.