• Upcoming updates
    Over the next couple of weeks we will be performing software updates on the forum. These will be completed in small steps as we upgrade individual software addons. You might occasionally see a maintenance message that will last a few minutes at most.

If we anticipate an update will take more than a few minutes, we'll put up a notice with estimated time.

Thank you!

Black Forest Cuckoo Clock

HUDD

Apr 11, 2004
St. Albans, UK
Country
Region
Here are a few pictures of my wife's grandmother's cuckoo clock. I've been promising to fix it for nearly 3 years now so I finally bit the bullet. Apart from a badly replaced pivot to the going train second wheel ( looks like a machined down screw thread but it is polished and hasn't damaged the pivot hole ), some slightly bent "spokes" to the going train 3rd wheel and a loose cap to the going train spring barrel it looks to be in good order.
The barrel cap has a tapered edge and the corresponding barrel is machined with a groove to accept the cap. I haven't come across this particular design before and it looks as though the tapered edge of the cap will be damaged if I try forcing the cap into position. Is there a different way to fit the barrel cap without fear of damage ? I would also be interested if some kind person could advise the age of this clock ?

Mike Img_0009.jpg Img_0011a.jpg Img_0017.jpg Img_0033.jpg

R&A

Oct 21, 2008
Country
Some of these caps are hard to relocate back in place. For future reference, try marking the caps and the barrel they come off of. Barrel will distort after time and it's important that they go back on the same way they came off. I use a small wood mallet. Some times I have to put them in a vice with soft jaws. Clamp down half and then smack the other half with the mallet to pop it into place. Vice jaws will damage the surface if you don't use soft jaws.

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region