Birge and Peck clock

Discussion in 'Your Newest Clock Acquisition' started by Charles Haynes, Jan 23, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Charles Haynes

Charles Haynes New Member

Jan 23, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Found this Birge and Peck clock this weekend at an auction. Was curious if I should do something to protect the reverse painted glass. Clear coat maybe. It is in very nice shape now. I am not an expert on clocks I think from what I found on the internet that this would date from 1849-1859. I believe the hands have been replaced as well as the pendulum. One of the weights is not hooked up I will try later this week to hook it up Thanks for any information on my clock

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

2. rmarkowitz1_cee4a1

rmarkowitz1_cee4a1 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 26, 2009
    Country Flag:
    RE: "clear coating" the tablets to preserve them, I reply NO!!!
    Leave them alone. They've lasted this long without your "help".

RM

3. Raymond Rice

Raymond Rice Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Retired IBM manager, retired politician, now just
    NYS
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Very nice clock! The tablets need no "improvement". Enjoy them for what they are --which is quite nice! Would be interesting to see the works--I find Birge works to be interesting.
    Ray Rice

4. PatH

PatH Registered User
    NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Dec 5, 2014
    Female
    Texas
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the message board, and congratulations on this beautiful find! As long as you remove the pendulum and weights before moving the clock, the tablets should be fine. They are beautiful, and will likely stay that way for many more years.

5. Charles Haynes

Jan 23, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag: