Beha fusee cuckoo clock

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by jeules0, May 11, 2010.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. jeules0

jeules0 Registered User

May 26, 2009
    teacher
    Kent, UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #1 jeules0, May 11, 2010
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
    Went to my favourite antique/flea market today and came away with two 19th C cuckoo clocks.

This one is a BEHA twin fusee, bone numerals and hands, cuckoo with wings, 18" high. The crown is missing, but I have one from another clock that looks fine. I also need to construct a pendulum. It is impressed BEHA to the top of the wooden movement frame

Retailer was the famous London firm, Camerer Cuss, as shown on the original door label.

Initial investigations suggest that it is in working order

Cost was an extremely reasonable £180.

Any information very welcome, as I am no expert on these clocks, thanks

I'll post the other separately.

Attached Files:

2. jimmyd

jimmyd Registered User

Apr 9, 2010
    jeules - I have been watching the US ebay cuckoo & black forest pieces lately and have admit that your flea market finds are exceptionally nice pieces, especially at the prices paid.
    They have good looking carvings, nice clean works, and seem to be well marked/documented.
    Color me green.
    Jim Duncan

3. Jeremy Woodoff

Jeremy Woodoff Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 30, 2002
    Brooklyn
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    That is a nice clock! Great carving. I've always thought it odd to have a brass fusee clock in a wood-plate frame. It seems like a mismatch between primitive and sophisticated work.

I don't think the crown you show does the clock justice. It's too small and the carvings are way inferior. Hopefully you'll be able to find a better one.

4. jeules0

jeules0 Registered User

May 26, 2009
    teacher
    Kent, UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: