Beginner: My first project: Waltham model 1888

Discussion in 'Watch Repair' started by Toehead2, Aug 1, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Toehead2

Toehead2 Registered User

Aug 1, 2014
    Mechanical Design Engineer
    Littleton, MA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello! My name is Brendan, and this is my first post. I have always been interested in mechanical clocks and watches (as an engineer, I seem to be drawn towards clever mechanisms :D ). I recently have decided to start trying to repair broken pocket watches, and have been collecting the required tools at yardsales and consignment shopes.
    So far, I have:
    • Bausch and Lomb stereo microscope , 3-30x with backlight/toplight
    • Hand pullers
    • Watchmaker screwdriver
    • Movement holder
    • air bulb
    • tweezers
    • Moebius oil
    • oilers

I don't yet have a mainspring winder.

I also purchased a "practice" movement off of ebay, a waltham model 1888 7 jewel bond street grade that was advertised as in good cosmetic shape but not running.

So far, I have managed to disassemble the watch and inspect everything under the microscope, and diagnose the problem with my meager skills.
    The first problem is a broken mainspring. (looks like I need that mainspring winder!)

The second problem is a little more complex: One of the pallet jewels has a chip on it. The watch actually runs alright when I supply power with my finger through the center wheel. Looking under the microscope, it seems that about 3/4 of the escape wheel tooth is riding on undamaged jewel, but the remaining 1/4 is over the damaged section.

I understand from reading that the escape wheel and pallet fork are factory matched, and replacing just one requires a lot of adjustment to get working.