Beginner looking for details related to a Junghans clock

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Someone Secrer, Jul 23, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Someone Secrer

Someone Secrer Registered User

Feb 11, 2020
    Country Flag:
    Hello Everyone!

I am fairly new at this and am seeking information about a clock I have.

It is a Junhans Westminster strike. It is working quite well but I know nothing about it except it was made in Germany.... I am making a huge assumption that is is from about 1920?

Any idea what the metal piece is that is sitting on the bottom? It is not currently attached to anything.

I have seen this name occasionally on the forum. Anything you can tell me would be appreciated.

Thanks

IMG_20200723_215345019.jpg IMG_20200723_215422689.jpg IMG_20200723_215444662.jpg IMG_20200723_215513160.jpg

2. roughbarked

roughbarked Registered User

Dec 2, 2016
    watchmaker
    Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    The piece in the bottom is to screw the clock to the wall so that every time the door is opened to wind it up, the clock doesn't swing with the gravity of the situation.

I'd guess more thirties to fifties.

3. new2clocks

new2clocks Registered User
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Apr 25, 2005
    Pennsylvania
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    If you provide us with a clear picture of the back of the movement, we may be able to provide you with the information you seek. Otherwise, we can only provide our best guesses.

Regards.

4. svenedin

svenedin Registered User

Jan 28, 2010
    Male
    Doctor of Medicine (Military)
    Surrey
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Look 1930's to me. Rather nice! Great how it has kept its instruction label and that bracket in the case.

5. Ticktocktime100

Ticktocktime100 Registered User

Hi,