Battle with Jauch 77

Brianonymous

May 3, 2021
Country
Hello everyone. I am a clock noob.
I have my grandfathers grandfather clock, which has a 1974 (I think) Jauch 77 in it. I've never worked on mechanical clocks before, but I am pretty good with my hands and systems in general.

There were two main problems that took me about a month to troubleshoot and resolve, but I think I have them conquered.
I've torn the thing down, bought an ultrasonic cleaner, scrubbed, lubed, etc.
This has been a great experience because I didn't use many references, but I spent hours and hours studying how everything worked piece by piece.
Fascinating machines.

I did manage to get everything back up and running.

Anyways, I have just a few questions. This may be a bit challenging because I don't really know the proper names for things.

1) I am not entirely sure what the best way to properly adjust those 2 hooks on the chime side. The ones that hook the pin on the gear that drives the hammer mechanism. My first attempt was to just loosen the set screw of the adjustable hook and let the hook rest naturally on the pin - then tighten. This was clearly too much and the lever mechanism couldn't raise the hook high enough to unlock it.
So, I just kept playing with an offset height until it seemed to work.
Is there a method to this? or is it really just guess work? I'm not sure I trust that it will always unlock the pin and I have evidence this morning that it might have missed a chime cycle.

2) Bushings. Yeah, I am absolutely sure I could use some, but as long as she runs, I will hold off. But I also feel like that's the super hard approach. Is it possible to just order the two plates and start a-new? I would imagine someone with a CNC machine could bust out those plates pretty rapidly, unless I am missing something in the details of their construction.

Dave T

NAWCC Member
Dec 8, 2011
NC
Country
Region
Sounds like you're doing quite well for a first attempt.