Basic winding/setting Instuctions.

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by Cowboy, Jan 5, 2006.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Cowboy

Cowboy Guest

I know this is a pretty general question but, I am new to pocket watch ownership. How often should I wind my 1873 Elgin keywind/key set pocket watch(it will be used on a daily basis) and is there a proper procedure i.e. set frist, wind first? Any tips and advise would be great. I have waited for 40 years to have such a fine timepiece and want to make sure it will last another century.

Thanx,

Woody

2. Cowboy

Cowboy Guest

I know this is a pretty general question but, I am new to pocket watch ownership. How often should I wind my 1873 Elgin keywind/key set pocket watch(it will be used on a daily basis) and is there a proper procedure i.e. set frist, wind first? Any tips and advise would be great. I have waited for 40 years to have such a fine timepiece and want to make sure it will last another century.

Thanx,

Woody

3. LarFure

LarFure Registered User

Nov 30, 2003
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Cowboy,
    Here are some instructions for the care of your vintage pocket watch. It doesn't give winding and setting instructions for a key wind/set,but that should be self evident.
    http://www.knology.net/~ksinger/carefeed.txt

4. Bill B

Bill B Registered User

Aug 12, 2004
    Apache Jct AZ
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: