Ball - Waltham 1912

JeffL

Jul 19, 2010
I recently acquired a Ball watch (B245327) made by Waltham in 1912. Is the movement basically a 21 jewel Crescent Street or is it distinct from any model made by Waltham? The watch runs fine and keeps accurate time.

The case appears to be original to the watch - "Ball Model" stamped into the Keystone case cover (there is a dust cover too), but the case has brassing around the edges and the dial has hairlines. I assume I should leave the watch as is versus getting a replacement dial and/or case?

Thanks, JeffL

Dutto11

Jul 12, 2006
Brisbane, Australia
Country
Region
Hi Jeffl,
I will start by saying I am no expert when it come to Ball watches or any other model for that matter, I just read and ask a lot of questions.

With a fine quality watch like a Ball it should be cleaned before any long period of running if you don't know when it was last cleaned that is.

As for when it was produced just read what Larry Treiman sent to me about a 19 jewel Ball Waltham watch I recently purchased.

From the very first watches that Waltham made for Ball, they took the regular Waltham serial number, then took off the millions and ten-millions place digits and substituted a "B" prefix. Thus 9060701 presumably should become Ball s.n. B060701. That is what usually happened....but not always. In some instances in Waltham Balls with Waltham serial numbers in the 10 millions, they apparently dropped only the 1 in the 10 millions place but not the 0 in the millions place, leaving the B followed by 7 digits beginning with 0, like B0XXXXXX. This went on for several years resulting in serial number runs that are all over the place, IOW, a real hodge-podge!