Auguste Saltzmann movement production dates

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Clint Geller, May 12, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. For the new NAWCC home page
    Click this image at the upper left corner of this page.
  1. Clint Geller

Clint Geller Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    I am a recently retired research physicist
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Does anyone have access to a database, or to extant company records, which can tell me in about what year a particular Saltzmann movement was made? I'm looking at serial numbers around 28,000 to 29,000. They are Lepine Calibre Type IV variants with in-line lever escapements and nickel plates. Thanks very much in advance.

2. hans

hans Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 11, 2008
  3. Clint Geller

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Thanks, I saw that. I suppose the reference to "Herstellung: 1860er" means something like "finished approximately 1860?" The problem is that movements with vastly different serial numbers are attributed to the same year, which does not inspire confidence.

4. MartyR

MartyR Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Dec 16, 2008
    UK
    Country Flag:
    And quite rightly ;) The problem is, Clint, that you need to know who is doing the attribution, and on what basis!

There are probably less then a dozen Swiss watchmakers who have records over 100 years old, and not many more than that whom collectors have found sufficiently significant to develop databases. i doubt that Salzmann would fall into either category. I cannot find any reference to Salzmann (or Saltzmann) at Mikrolisk.de, which is a worldwide database of trademarks and often useful for dating a Swiss watch showing a trademark.