Atmos clock winding arbor pulley pin

John Coffman

Aug 31, 2018
Salem Oregon
Country
Region
Hi folks,

I'm a home hobbyist that has been tinkering with clock repairs for a few years. This is my first post. I've built up some skills at taking apart movements, cleaning them and reassembling. But the Atmos clock parts are more like watch parts.

I'm attempting to replace the chain on my Atmos Caliber 528-6. I received the replacement chain from Timesavers. I have the winding arbor removed from the clock. But I'm stuck at pressing out the pin that holds the chain and return spring. I'll attach a few pictures. I've read on various threads here that the pin should readily push out. It would be really helpful to know: 1) which direction to press from and 2) what sort of tool I could do that with.

Thanks!

IMG_3080.JPEG IMG_3081.JPEG IMG_3082.JPEG IMG_3083.JPEG

John Coffman

Aug 31, 2018
Salem Oregon
Country
Region
I use a small, angled pair of wire cutters to grip the pin and pry it away from the ratchet wheel. Usually no need to completely remove it.
That’s really helpful! Now I know which direction it goes. I tried that with my smallest wire cutters but couldn’t get a grip. I’ll see if I can pick up some smaller cutters.
Do you do anything to the blades to protect the pin surface?

John Coffman

Aug 31, 2018
Salem Oregon
Country
Region
Thanks for you help, Ed. I caused to much damage trying to press the pin out from both ends. Now I know the proper direction to push. I had it in so tight, that, even though I had small angled wire cutters, I had to cut in half to get it out. Half pushed out through the top hole and the bottom half was stuck and to small to grab. I ended up drilling it out with a .035" drill. I think I can replace it with a brass tapered pin cut top size.

Jeff Hamilton

NAWCC Member
Jan 2, 2007
Tallahassee, FL
www.AtmosTools.com
Country