Assistance needed in possible ID, dating and classification of this Swiss pocket watch

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by David Medford, Nov 14, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. David Medford

David Medford Registered User

Nov 13, 2019
    Good Afternoon! I am excited about my very first post to the board - as I am a complete novice in this arena of collecting, so please forgive my 'green'-ness. This watch started my interest in collecting watches as I was simply struck by its beauty and its complicated movement. I use the word 'complicated' to mean all the additional dials - moon phase, date, etc. Unfortunately, the watch is in a state of disrepair at the moment. The watch movement, with gentle circular motion does move for a moment before 'running out of steam'. The crown is missing on this watch. It looks to have a strike or alarm mechanism as evidenced by the small button to the side of the stem. I am just curious about the make, date and type of watch this is. I am particularly interested in learning the correct terminology when describing and viewing a pocket watch, so any help in this arena would be greatly appreciated! The interior of the case is marked "Swiss" but no other markings are noted on the case besides some hand inscribed, post-manufacture markings (perhaps to denote repair/work done on watch). The face of the watch is also not marked that I can see. One hand has fallen to the bottom of the face but is still present. The movement is marked with what I will call a "Swiss Cross" and the number "11.17C". Thanks in advance for your assistance!

IMG_5373.JPG IMG_5374.JPG IMG_5375.JPG IMG_5376.JPG IMG_5377.JPG IMG_5378.JPG

2. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    Welcome the board.