Assemblers Putty

Robert Horneman

Jul 6, 2017
Country
I am looking for putty to hold wheels etc in place while assembling movements. It may have been called Assemblers Putty many years ago.
There may be something similar. It can't leave any residue on the parts.
Any thoughts?

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
Oil based modeling clay might work but I've never heard of such a thing. Willie X

SuffolkM

NAWCC Member
Jun 15, 2020
Country
There are hundreds of products in this category believe it or not. If you search for polycaprolactone, that's the stuff. Some brands include Multimorph and Polymorph. It melts at 60C, basically a bit like a wax chuck idea but fantastically useful for all manner of jobs.

D.th.munroe

Feb 15, 2018
BC Canada
Country
Region
Putty adhesives like Rodico seem to be the same as what I was told was assembly putty.
I've been using "Dixon Holdit" instead of Rodico for a couple years, It works the same and under $2 in most places you can buy office or school supplies.

There is other brands, of course but I haven't tried many for residues this one was the cleanest I found locally.
Dan

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
I would strongly discourage the use of any type of putty. It can only cause problems. Wiggling pivots into their holes is a skill that you need to learn. There are no substitutes.

Robert Horneman

Jul 6, 2017
Country
I would strongly discourage the use of any type of putty. It can only cause problems. Wiggling pivots into their holes is a skill that you need to learn. There are no substitutes.
The purpose of the putty is to hold wheels , warning pins and cams in place once you have them in the correct position.
I struggle assembling cuckoo/quails and three wheel cuckoos. Simple Regulas and Schatz etc. are no problem. Wiggling pivots into their holes is also no problem.

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008